Immersion

Consider this…

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/robbiecooper/immersion-project/widget/video.html

Robbie Cooper’s ‘Immersion’, a series of photographs which capture the facial expressions of subjects immersed in watching TV or computer screens, is a frank and powerful examination of the multimedia age.

Recently he successful raised money via Kickstarter to expand his Immersion project to a large audience.

What do you think? A creepy look into our interactions with technology or a look into our individual worlds through our expressions?

6 thoughts on “Immersion

  1. This is certainly a very interesting project! I think it’s slightly creepy but given they state the average human spends roughly 12 hours in front of a screen per day, I think it’s a rather thought-provoking look into how people react to media differently through our expressions.

  2. I’ve always thought facial expressions were so interesting – so seeing a project like this is actually really neat. It’s amazing how much one can interpret by just looking at someone’s face – pretty cool how media can evoke such a variety of feelings. I would only say it’s creepy if I saw myself on there!

  3. This is a cool idea. I have donated via Kickstarter to different projects, but was not moved to suppor this one. A friend and I set-up his GoPro to do something similar to this for the Red Wedding episode of HBO’s Game of Thrones. The High Definition definitely makes it more interesting.

  4. I would definitely be interested in LOOKING at the product, but not taking part. I don’t even like to hear my own voice, i don’t want to see my facial expressions in High-def! I would also be incredibly interested in the youngest subjects.

  5. This is an interesting idea. I think it would make for an interesting game where you guess what the person was looking at based on their expression. Did you end up backing this project?

  6. Pingback: Paying Attention to What We’re Paying Attention To | Meredith & Technology

Leave a Reply

